Role-Based Permissions

Permissions allow you to control who can access different features. To use permissions, you create a Role, edit that Role's permissions, and assign the Role to specific Individuals.

To access:

Settings (Gear Icon) → Permissions → Roles

Here, you may create a new role using the ‘Add Role’ box, or you may edit a pre-existing role using the Pencil Icon on the far right.

Permission Categories

  • Global

    • Check-In
      • Run Check-In → Allows the user to run Check-In
      • Allow Check-Out Using Status Report → Allows the user to check-out individuals via status report
      • SMS Parent Allows the user to send Text Messages to parents from check-in status report
      • Edit Notes Allows the user to edit the notes of another individual
    • Giving (Note: Activity by the user here will affect Giving Reports.)
      • Input/View Batch Giving Allows the user to Input and/or View batches
      • Input/View Individual Giving Allows the user to Input and/or View individuals giving records
    • System
      • Administer Permissions Allows the user to grant permissions (Just like you’re doing now!)
      • Administer Settings Allows the user to update settings within the database    
      • View System Log Allows the user to view the System Log
      • View Admin Messages Allows the user to view the Admin Messages
      • View All Mass Contact Messages Allows the user to view ALL of the mass contact messages available within the database
      • Delete/Share Saved Reports Allows the user to Delete and/or Share Saved Reports within the database.
    • Search
      • Search Allows the user to utilize the searching features within the database
    • Workflows
      • Add/Edit Allows the user to Add and/or Edit Workflows within the system
    • Schedules
      • Create Allows the user to create schedules within the database
      • View All Allows the user to view all the schedules within the database
      • Edit All Allows the user to edit all the schedules within the database
      • Delete All Allows the user to delete all the schedules within the database
  • Forms

    • It is important to note that in this section you are given the choice to Enable the ability to see and work with your forms. When this is Enabled, you are given categories that can be Enabled/Disabled as well as the main templates that are given within forms.
    • Customize the permissions based on the type of form and the categories you would like the user to have.
      • For example, with the current settings, your user would have the ability to:
        • Create a contact form
        • Edit a contact form
        • View the responses of a contact form
      • The user will Not have the ability to:
        • Delete Contact Forms
        • Issue Refunds from a Contact Form
    • Use this to fully customize the permissions you would like to administer to your Role, based on the form types within the database.
  • Group-Based

    • Attendance (Note: Activity by the user here will affect Attendance Reports.)
      • Add/Edit Allows the user to Add and/or Edit Attendance within the database.
    • Background Checks
      • Order Allows the user to order background checks for individuals
      • View Allows the user to view the background checks within the database in individual's profiles
      • DeleteAllows the user to delete background checks within the database in individual's profiles
    • Documents
      • View Allows the user to view the documents within the database in individual's profiles
      • Add/Edit Allows the user to Add and/or Edit the documents within the database
    • Groups
      • Add Allows the user to add groups to the database
      • Edit Details Allows the user to edit the settings of groups
      • Edit Memberships Allows the user to add or remove individuals from groups
      • Show All Names in Add Individual Search When using ‘Add Individual Search’ this allows the user to see all names within the database
    • Group Views
      • View Allows the user to view group views
      • Add/Edit Allows Add add/or Edit group views
      • Share Allows users to share group views
      • Manage Allows users to manage group views
    • ‚ÄčIndividuals (Note: Activity by the user here will affect Individual Reports.)
      • View Allows the user to view individuals within the database
      • Add/Edit Allows the user to Add and/or Edit individuals within the database
      • Import Allows the user to import individuals into the database
      • Propose Edit Allows the user to propose an edit for individual(s)
      • Delete Allows the user to delete individual(s) from the database
      • Merge Allows the user to merge individuals in the database
    • Notes
      • View Allows the user to view notes within the individual's profiles
      • Add/Edit Allows the user to Add and/or edit notes within an individual's profile
    • Pictures
      • Add/Edit Allows the user to Add and/or Edit pictures within the database
    • Reports
      • View Attendance Allows the user to view attendance reports
      • View Membership Allows the user to view membership reports
      • View Giving →  Allows the user to view giving reports (Individual's giving)
      • View Summary Giving Allows the user to view summary giving reports (overall giving)
    • Utilities
      • Mass Email Allows the user to send mass emails
      • Mass SMS Allows the user to send mass text messages
      • Mass Voice Allows the user to send mass voice messages
      • Export Data Allows the user to export data
  • Interactions

    • Enable Allows the user to use interactions within the database according to the settings in the table.
      • Much like forms, you are given the ability to customize permissions per Interaction Type.
      • The left side of the table contains the interactions within your database. You will notice your own custom interactions types will be found here.
        • View Allows the user to view this interaction
        • Assign Allows the user to assign this interaction
        • Log Allows the user to log an interaction
        • Edit Allows the user to edit an interaction
        • Delete Allows the user to delete an interaction
  • Groups

    • All Groups If selected, this allows this individual to possess these permissions across all groups within the database
    • Select Groups If selected, limits the individual’s custom role permissions to specific groups that you will choose upon the option being selected.

Important Note: New databases with no groups will not have either option chosen which may cause issues with your permissions. Make sure that at least one group has been created before utilizing Role-Based Permissions. 

 

Related Articles